Muso Jikiden Eishen Ryu Iaido



Local History
Lineage from Oe Sensei

Iwata Sensei

Training Schedule

Contact Details



Here is the lineage of Iaido starting from its acknowledged founder.
1. Hayashizaki Jinsuke Minamoto Shigenobu
(1242 - 1621)
Regarded as the founder of Iaido because of his overwhelming influence on the art. He was a religous man and while praying to Hayashi Myojin in the village of Hayashizaki he claimes to have had a revelation concerning the sword arts. He names his school the Shimmei Muso Ryu.
2. Tamiya Heibei Sigemasa
(c. late 1500's)
A student of Jinsuke and others. He was the sword teacher to the first three Tokugawa Shoguns. He founded the Tamiya Ryu.
3. Nagana Muraku Kinrosai
(dates uncertain)
A military man and student of first Jinsuke and then Tamiya. He developed Iai as a major part of the curriculum of the Muraku Ryu which he founded in his own right.
4. Momo Gembei Mitsushige
(dates uncertain)
5. Arikawa Shozaemon Munetsugu
(dates uncertain)
6. Banno Danemon no ju Nobusada
(dates uncertain)
Regarded as an important influence on subsequent headmasters.
7. Hasegawa Chikaransuke Eishin (a.k.a. Hidenobu) A very important influence on the style being responsible for devising the Eishin Ryu set of forms. The performance of his forms was said to be muso (without equal). This word now forms part of the name of our Ryu.
8. Arai Seitetsu Kiyonobu
(dates uncertain)
This man taught in Edo (now Tokyo) after the departure of Eishin. He was thought to be a one time Ronin (masterless samurai).
9. Hayashi Rokudaya Morimasa
This man studied under Omori Rokurazaemon Masamitsu; Omori introduced him to a set of forms beginning from seiza. At a later date after returning to Tosa these forms were incorporated into what was then known as Tosa Iaijustsu.
10. Hayashi Yasudaya Masanobu (Seisho)
(? - 1776)
This man was the adopted son of Rokudaya.
11. Oguro Motoemon Kiyokatsu
(? - 1790)
This man had two highly skilled students who developed their own styles. After his death the Rye split into two ha or branches names after these two students. The first of these men was known as Tanimura and his style was more closely associated with the Tosa Iaijustsu. The other man was known as Shimamura who introduced considerable changes.


The Tanimura-ha


12. Hayashi Masu mo ju Masamori
(? - c. 1818)
The great-grandson of Rokudaya.
13. Yoda Manzai Yorikatsu
(? - 1809)
14. Hayashi Yadayu Seiki Masayori (a.k.a. Matsutaka)
(? - 1823)
15. Tanimura Kame no jo Yorikatsu (a.k.a. Sugio)
(? - 1862)
This man developed the tanimura-ha.
16. Goto Magobei Masasuke (a.k.a. Seiryo)
(? - 1898)
Along with Oe Masamichi this man made significant contributions to the art.
17. Oe Masamichi (a.k.a. shikei)
Oe Sensei received instruction in both the Tanimura-ha and the Shimomura-ha. In fact he was for a time the 15th generation Soke of the Shomomura-ha but there was many differences of opinion with Nakayama Hakudo, and as a consequence another person is listed. Oe sensei officially names the school muso Jikiden Eishen Ryu and incorporates the Omori Ryu and Eishin Ryu into the forms along with the existing forms. Great innocations were made in training methods at this time and composite techniques in the form of Haya-nuki and the Bangai forms were included as part of the set. He trained many excellent swordsmen many of whom had their own ideas about the techniques and developed their own Kai-waza (alternatives). After his death there was a dispute about who should become the next Soke. This dispute has let to much confusion and variation in the practice of Muso Jikiden Eishen Ryu with other ha being formed.

Link to the lineage of our teachers from here

18. Hogiyama Namio
(1891 - 1935)
A deshi (follower) of Oe Sensei. Consider to be the man who followed the teachings of Oe closely.
19. Fukui Harumasa
(1884 - 1971)
Another deshi of Oe who developed many new interpretations.
20. Kohno Hyakuren Minoru
(1897 - 1974)
Another deshi of Oe but he did not follow with Harumasa and collaborated with Hogiyama Namio in trying to ensure the teachings of Oe Sensei were adhered to. He was also responsible for spreading the style beyond its traditional realms of Tosa and Kochi.
21. Fukui Tarao A follower of the teachings of Fukui Harumasa.
22. Ikeda Takashi  

Please contact with and complaints, problems or suggestions.
Copyright 2000-01 - Eikoku Roshukai & Others